Our Committee

Col Nick Lipscombe

Nick Lipscombe MSc, FRHistS is a historian specialising in the Napoleonic Wars and in particular the Peninsular War. He has written numerous books and papers on matters relating to the Napoleonic wars. His first book, An Atlas and Concise Military History of the Peninsular War was published in 2010 and was selected as the Daily Telegraph (History) Book of the Year. He is recognised as a world authority on the battles and battlefields of the Iberian Peninsula and Southern France.

Nick was born in 1958 in Angers, France and served for thirty-four years in the British Army where he saw considerable operational service. He was awarded the US Bronze Star in 2006.

Nick joined the BCMH Committee in 2018.

Zack White
Post Grad rep

Zack White joined the BCMH Committee in 2018 and together with will Fletcher is one our the Committtee's links with the Post Graduate community. Zack is based at the University of Southampton and currently working on a PhD thesis on discipline in the British Army during the Peninsular War, and compiling a database (to be published at a future date) of crimes committed by soldiers during this period.

Will Fletcher
Post Grad rep

Will Fletcher joined the BCMH Committee in 2018.  A sudent a King's College London his project is entitled: 'Scientific Soldiers?' The Quartermaster General's Department and the Peninsular War (1808-1814).  He is one of the Committee's links with the military history Post Graduate community, together with Zack White.

Professor Anne Curry

Professor Anne Curry is the Dean of the Faculty of Humanities at the University of Southampton. She joined the BCMH Committee in 2018 to offer assistance with our conferences and activities relating to the medieval era.

Mrs Mary Brewer
Membership Secretary

Mary took a BA in History at Leeds and joined the Committee in 2018 as Membership Secretary having previously assisted Dan Whittingham in that role since 2017. She is also Treasurer and Membership Secretary of the Friends of the Lines of Torres Vedras (FLTV).


Ian Brewer

Ian graduated in history at Leeds University in 1975 following which he joined the (then) Inland Revenue. In 1996 he entered private practice specialising in the valuation of intellectual property.  He has an interest in a wide range of military history but particularly the American Civil War following a presentation to him at school of the biography of Stonewall Jackson by G F R Henderson. He joined the BCMH Committee as Treasurer in 2017 and combines it with a keen interest in dining, fine wines and rugby.


Dr John Peaty
Military Heritage

John PeatyDr John Peaty is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and of the Royal Geographical Society. He holds a PhD and MA in War Studies from King’s College London. He is the Chair of the Templer Committee of the Society for Army Historical Research, a Founder Member of the Royal Air Force Historical Society, a Life Member of the Institute of Historical Research, a member of the Royal United Services Institute and the Convenor of the Historical Military Mapping Group of the British Cartographic Society. He has published articles and essays and lectured widely on military history. He is an inveterate battlefield tourer. He works for the Ministry of Defence, where he was formerly with the Army Historical Branch.  For many years the International Secretary of the British Commission for Military History he now has responsibility for liaising with groups involved with the maintenance of our military heritage.

Dr Daniel Whittingham
International Secretary

Dan WhittinghamDr Daniel Whittingham is Lecturer in War Studies at the Department of History, University of Birmingham.  He holds a BA in History from the University of Oxford, and an MA in the History of Warfare from the Department of War Studies at King's College London.  He completed his PhD at the Department of War Studies, King's College London, in April 2013.  He joined the BCMH in 2010 and represented the BCMH at the PhD workshop at the ICMH Congress in Amsterdam that year.  His PhD, a study of the military thought and professional career of Charles E. Callwell, is currently being prepared for publication.


Dr Matthew Ford
Editor-in-Chief, British Journal for Military History

matthew-fordDr Matthew Ford is Lecturer in International Relations at the University of Sussex. Matthew has a PhD from the Department of War Studies at King’s College London (KCL); an MA in War Studies from KCL and a BA (Hons) in Philosophy from the University of Reading. Matthew has published in a number of journals including the Journal of Strategic Studies, Small Wars and Insurgencies, War in History, Studies in Conflict and Terrorism and Parameters, the journal of the US Army War College. His research interests focus on military innovation; socio-technical change; the social construction of military effects and strategy. Matthew is a former West Point Fellow and winner of the Society for Military History’s Russell F. Weigley Graduate award. Matthew is an Honorary Historical Consultant to the Royal Armouries.


Dr Tim Gale
Assistant Secretary General

Tim GaleDr Tim Gale was awarded his PhD by the Department of War Studies, King’s College London for his work on French tank development and operations in the First World War. He has contributed chapters on this subject in several academic books, as well as other work on the French Army during the Great War. Tim has made a special study of the career of the controversial French First World War General, Charles Mangin. His first book, The French Army’s Tank Force and the Development of Armoured Warfare in the Great War was published in 2013 by Ashgate Publishing.


Andrew Grainger

Andy GraingerAndy Grainger took a degree in History at the University of Reading in 1975. He has spent most of his working life collecting Inheritance Tax though latterly assisting owners of historic houses and works of art to give public access to them. He now consults for a major auction house. He served in the Royal Artillery (TA) during the Cold War and joined the BCMH in 1994, serving on the committee as Editor of Mars & Clio from 2004 to 2011. Andy returned to the General Committee of the BCMH in February 2014 and was elected Secretary General in February 2015.