Our Journal

The British Journal for Military History

The British Journal for Military History (BJMH) is a pioneering Open Access, peer-reviewed journal that brings high quality scholarship in military history to an audience beyond academia.

The BJMH is published three times a year (Spring, Summer, Autumn), caters for all periods and will bring high quality scholarship to a large audience beyond academia.

It will be of interest to anyone who enjoys military history and will consider and publish work on a broad range of themes from any period or war.

The journal is a British Commission for Military History initiative and has an Editorial Advisory Board that includes some of the world’s leading military historians.

For more details about the British Journal for Military History, visit the website here.

To contact the editors please send an email to: editor@bcmh.org.uk


Dr Matthew Ford (University of Sussex)


Dr Catherine Baker (University of Hull)

Dr Nick Terry (University of Exeter)

Associate Editors

Jennifer Daley (King’s College London)

Aimée Fox-Godden (University of Birmingham)

Dr Stuart Mitchell (Senior Lecturer RMA Sandhurst)

Editorial Advisory Board

Major-General Mungo Melvin (President, BCMH)

Professor Bill Philpott (Secretary-General, BCMH & King’s College London)

Dr Tim Gale (Treasurer, BCMH)

Andy Grainger (Member BCMH)

Dr Andy Simpson (Member BCMH)

Professor Charles Esdaile (University of Liverpool)

Professor Richard Grayson (Goldsmiths, University of London)

Professor Beatrice Heuser (University of Reading)

Professor Brian Holden-Reid (King’s College London)

Professor Matthew Hughes (Brunel University)

Professor Andrew Roberts (Cornell University)

Professor Gary Sheffield (University of Wolverhampton)

Professor Sir Hew Strachan (University of Oxford)

Dr Huw Bennett (University of Aberystwyth)

Dr Huw Davies (JSCSC; King’s College London)

Dr Declan O’Reilly (University of East Anglia)

Jonathan Ferguson (Royal Armouries)

Sebastian Cox (Air Historical Branch – UK MoD)

Robert Evans (Army Historical Branch – UK MoD)

Stephen Prince (Naval Historical Branch – UK MoD)